Uncategorized

Africa: Unlearn Your Slave Complex (A brief anecdote about horrible service delivery)

For as long as it took me to write this little vent piece, I’ve been sitting here waiting for the bill I requested 30 minutes ago watching every single waiter here fuss over the family of white people sitting across me. I’m so angry, I’m quarter to walking out of here without paying at all. I don’t understand [some] Black people sometimes. Apartheid ended years ago but you still feel the need to treat and regard white people better than your own kind. Is it because as a black person I’m empathetic to your struggle & I’m less likely to call you out, ask for the manager and make a scene? Is that what it should come to for me to warrant that kind of treatment? I mean I was here before them & I’m going to pay just like them or is my time not worth as much? I don’t know if I’m more mad at the people who do things like this or at the fact that we’ve been conditioned like this by white people: To treat each other like shit & bend over backwards for them. I don’t know, maybe I’m overreacting. I don’t think I am though.

Conclusion: I’m definitely not leaving a tip. A shame too because I was feeling so generous today.

-Nosipho

Leave a Reply

